Timeline of Events

  • 1987 Antarctic Heritage Trust New Zealand established 
  • 1993 UK Antarctic Heritage Trust established 
  • 1994 Conservation survey of Antarctic Peninsula undertaken by BAS. Port Lockroy, Wordie House, Stonington and Horseshoe designated as HSMs. 
  • 1996 Port Lockroy restored by BAS. 

2000 - 2009

  • 2000 Rachel Morgan becomes director of UKAHT 
  • 2006 Philippa Foster-Back becomes Chairman of UKAHT 
  • 2007 HRH visits Antarctic Peninsula including Port Lockroy 
  • 2006 UKAHT takes over management of Port Lockroy 
  • 2009 Detaille and Damoy Hut are made HSMs 
  • 2009/10 Season Conservation work takes place at Wordie House

2010 - 2013

  • 2010/11 Season Conservation work takes place at Detaille & Damoy Hut, and the Nissen hut is built at Port Lockroy. 
  • 2011/12 Season Conservation work takes place at Wordie House 
  • 2012 St Pauls Centenary Service; UKAHT received the Royal Geographical Society’s ‘Geographical Award’. 
  • 2012/13 Season Conservation work takes place at Detaille  
  • 2013 Donald Lamont becomes Chairman 

2013 Onwards

  • 2013/2014 Season Conservation work takes place at Wordie House and ‘Penguin Post Office’ filming takes place at Port Lockroy. 
  • 2014 70th Anniversary of Operation Tabarin celebrated at the House of Commons; ‘Penguin Post Office’ is aired for the first time; Camilla Nichol appointed Chief Executive. 
  • 2015 The ‘Enduring Eye exhibition opens at the Royal Geographical Society; UKAHT takes over management of the HSMs at Horseshoe and Stonington from BAS. 

Subscribe to our newsletter


Press Enquiries

We are very keen to promote the important heritage work that we do, telling the story of life in Antarctica both past and present. If you are interested in running a story about us, using our images or films or want to discuss an interview or potential collaboration opportunity we would love to hear from you.  Please contact either Sarah or Lewis at Limewash to discuss your requirements sarah@limewash.co.uk or +44 (0)1223 813 557.